Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Death of a Dentist by M. C. Beaton

A toothache can drive a man mad - or to Dr. Frederick Gilchrist's dental surgery in the little village of Braikie. In a country where thrift and a "nice set of dentures" are admired, Dr. Gilchrist's cheap rates and penchant for pulling teeth had gained him a clientele. His use of "The Great Australian Trench" (letting the drill slide across as many teeth as possible to ensure a steady customer) and some unsavory womanizing made wiser Highlanders stay away from the dentist's second-floor office. But one chill autumn morning the whole side of Police Constable Hamish Macbeth's jaw was a burning mass of pain, and he was willing to see Gilchrist, or the devil himself, to stop it. Unfortunately someone came, saw, and poisoned Gilchrist first. It was Macbeth's dismal luck to find the body. He already had his hands full with a major theft case. And he had his mind on a date, the first since his broken engagement to Priscilla Halburton-Smythe. Now he sourly set out to turn his attention to finding a killer. Perhaps only in superstitious Scotland would Macbeth's inquiries include the local seer, who had inside information to share (from the spirits, naturally). Perhaps only Macbeth would see a clue in the earthy details of daily life - not to mention facing a fate just as earthy in its own way.

Buy Death of a Dentist by M. C. Beaton from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780446606011
ISBN-10: 0446606014
Format: Paperback
(178mm x 108mm x mm)
Pages: 10
Imprint: Warner Books
Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
Publish Date: 1-Jul-1998
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Death of a Dentist by M. C. Beaton

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Death of a Dentist book by M. C. Beaton and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - M. C. Beaton

M. C. Beaton has won international acclaim for her New York Times bestselling Hamish Macbeth mysteries. The BBC has aired 24 episodes based on the series. Beaton is also the author of the bestselling Agatha Raisin series, which will air as an eight-episode dramatic series on Sky1, starring Ashley Jensen. She lives in the Cotswolds with her husband. For more information, you can visit

Books By M. C. Beaton

Death of a Nag by M. C. Beaton
Paperback, March 2018
Death of a Dentist by M. C. Beaton
Paperback, March 2018
Death of a Macho Man by M. C. Beaton
Paperback, March 2018
Death of an Honest Man by M. C. Beaton
Hardback, February 2018