Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Gaudy Night by Dorothy L. Sayers

A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers. Harriet Vane has never dared to return to her old Oxford college. Now, despite her scandalous life, she has been summoned back ...At first she thinks her worst fears have been fulfilled, as she encounters obscene graffiti, poison pen letters and a disgusting effigy when she arrives at sedate Shrewsbury College for the 'Gaudy' celebrations. But soon, Harriet realises that she is not the only target of this murderous malice - and asks Lord Peter Wimsey to help.

Buy Gaudy Night by Dorothy L. Sayers from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780450021541
ISBN-10: 0450021548
Format: Paperback
(179mm x 113mm x 37mm)
Pages: 576
Imprint: Hodder Paperback
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Publish Date: 1-Mar-1987
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Gaudy Night by Dorothy L. Sayers

US Kirkus Review » We hereby promote Dorothy Sayers from the straight mystery classification, and put her into the category of novel-cum-detection-cum-psychology. First rate yarn on the erudite and discursive side, a good picture of academic life in England, and again a Peter Wimsy story, with a bit of romance accruing when he frees Harriet Vane of a murder charge, helps reinstate her in her college in Oxford, and helps her trace the culprit who is intimidating the college with obscene notes. Chance for a double sale - on fiction and on mystery tables. (Kirkus Reviews)


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Gaudy Night book by Dorothy L. Sayers and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Dorothy L. Sayers

Dorothy L Sayers was born in Oxford in 1893, and was both a classical scholar and a graduate in modern languages. As well as her popular Lord Peter Wimsey series, she wrote several religious plays, but considered her translations of Dante's Divina Commedia to be her best work. She died in 1957.

Books By Dorothy L. Sayers

Trent's Last Case by Dorothy L. Sayers
Hardback, August 2017
$22.49
Murder Under the Christmas Tree by Dorothy L. Sayers
Paperback, November 2016
$17.99
Anatomy of Murder by Dorothy L. Sayers
Paperback, March 2016
$15.25
Ghettoside by Dorothy L. Sayers
Paperback, March 2015
$31.50