1300 36 33 32

New Expanded Edition to Commemorate the 40th Anniversary of Robert Kennedy's 1968 Presidential Campaign. With 30 pages of new material. "He was in many ways the greatest president we never had," writes Norman MacAfee in a new introduction to this revised edition of The Gospel According to RFK: Why It Matters Now. In the 81 days of his campaign, RFK outlined what seems today a redemptive vision for America: ending war and decreasing the gap between the races and classes, between rich and poor, black and brown and white. And then he was assassinated on June 5. But his words and thoughts and speeches remain to challenge and inspire. Included in The Gospel According to RFK are Kennedy's lengthy condemnation of war and his extraordinary, extemporaneous eulogy for Martin Luther King. Speeches new to this edition include "On the Mindless Menace of Violence" and Senator Edward Kennedy's eulogy for his brother at Saint Patrick's Cathedral. The Gospel According to RFK is filled with ideas that can be used to make a better world. It is for Democrats, liberals, independents, progressives and even some Republicans to read for inspiration and guidance. As Kennedy said, "Together we can make ourselves a nation that spends more on books than on bombs, more on hospitals than the terrible tools of war, more on decent houses than military aircraft."

Buy Gospel According to RFK book by Norman MacAfee from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780465003587
ISBN-10: 0465003583
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 140mm x 14mm)
Pages: 208
Imprint: Basic Books
Publisher: The Perseus Books Group
Publish Date: 3-May-2008
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Gospel According to RFK book by Norman MacAfee and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Norman MacAfee

Norman MacAfee's other books include the poetry books, One Class; The Coming of Fascism to America; and A New Requiem; and The Death of the Forest, opera to music of Charles Ives. MacAfee co-translated a volume of the poetry of Pier Paolo Pasolini; two volumes of the letters of Jean-Paul Sartre to Simone de Beauvoir, Witness to My Life and Quiet Moments in a War; and Victor Hugo's Les Miserables. He lives in New York City.

Books By Author Norman MacAfee

Les Miserables by Norman MacAfee

Les Miserables

Paperback / softback, October 2013