Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Instability Rules by Charles Flowers

World-altering discoveries that reveal a universe of uncertainty and constant change Whether probing the farthest reaches of the vast universe or exploring the microscopic world of genetics and the subatomic world of quantum mechanics, Instability Rules is a remarkably informative and engaging look at ten milestone discoveries and their discoverers-a wide range of very human personalities whose insights have dramatically altered our most basic assumptions about human existence during the last century. The stories include Edwin Hubble and the expanding universe, Alfred Wegener and continental drift, Neils Bohr and quantum mechanics, Alan Turing and artificial intelligence, and James Watson and Francis Crick and DNA. Also covering discoveries of the twenty-first century that are already refining these and other ideas, Instability Rules is an exhilarating, sometimes amusing encounter with the defining scientific discoveries of our age.

Buy Instability Rules by Charles Flowers from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780471380429
ISBN-10: 0471380423
Format: Hardback
(234mm x 160mm x 24mm)
Pages: 228
Imprint: John Wiley & Sons Inc
Publisher: Turner Publishing Company
Publish Date: 1-Mar-2002
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Instability Rules by Charles Flowers

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Instability Rules book by Charles Flowers and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Charles Flowers

CHARLES FLOWERS is an award-winning author or coauthor of fifty-eight books, most recently Mapping the Stars, The Big Bang (with David Appel), and A Science Odyssey: 100 Years of Discovery, the companion book to the PBS series.

Books By Charles Flowers

Elliott Erwitt Snaps by Charles Flowers
Hardback, February 2011
Elliott Erwitt; 2008 Diary by Charles Flowers
Hardback, June 2007
Elliott Erwitt Snaps; Notebook by Charles Flowers
Hardback, January 2006
Out, Loud and Laughing by Charles Flowers
Paperback, March 1995