Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - The Davis Dynasty by John Rothchild

This work presemts a half century of Wall Street history as seen through the lives of its most illustrious family. This compelling new narrative from bestselling author John Rothchild tells the story of three generations of the legendary Davis family, who rank among the most successful investors in the history of the Street. With a novelist's wit and eye for telling detail, Rothchild chronicles the financial escapades of this eccentric, pioneering clan, providing a vivid portrait of fifty years of Wall Street history along the way. Rothchild shadows the Davis family's holdings through two lengthy bull markets, two savage and seven mild bear markets, one crash, and twenty five corrections and, in the process, reveals the strategies behind the family s uncanny ability to consistently beat the markets. The Davis Dynasty begins in 1947, the year Shelby Davis quit his job as a state bureaucrat and, armed with $50,000 of his wife's money, took the plunge into stock investing. By the time he died in 1994, he had multiplied his wife's original stake 8,000 times! The story continues with his son, Shelby, who established one of the most successful funds of the past thirty years. The final characters in this enthralling family saga are grandsons Chris and Andrew. Both surrendered to the Davis family passion for investing and both went on to earn reputations as investment luminaries in their own right. John Rothchild (Miami Beach, FL) co wrote the blockbusters "One Up on Wall Street", "Beating the Street", and "Learn to Earn with Peter Lynch". He is the author of "Survive and Profit in Ferocious Markets" (Wiley: 0 471 34882 1), "A Fool and His Money" (Wiley: 0 471 25138 0), and "Going for Broke". He has written for "Harper's", "Rolling Stone", "Esquire", and other leading magazines and he has appeared on the "Today Show", "The Nightly Business Report", and CNBC.

Buy The Davis Dynasty by John Rothchild from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780471474418
ISBN-10: 047147441X
Format: Paperback
(223mm x 142mm x 22mm)
Pages: 320
Imprint: John Wiley & Sons Inc
Publisher: John Wiley and Sons Ltd
Publish Date: 20-Jan-2004
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - The Davis Dynasty by John Rothchild

Book Reviews - The Davis Dynasty by John Rothchild

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Davis Dynasty book by John Rothchild and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - John Rothchild

JOHN ROTHCHILD co-wrote the blockbusters One Up on Wall Street, Beating the Street, and Learn to Earn (all with Peter Lynch). He is the sole author of The Bear Book, A Fool and His Money, and Going for Broke. A former editor of the Washington Monthly and Fortune magazine, Rothchild has written for Harper's, Rolling Stone, Esquire, and other magazines. He has appeared on the Today show, the Nightly Business Report, and CNBC.

Books By John Rothchild

Davis Dynasty by John Rothchild
Hardback, August 2001
Up for Grabs by John Rothchild
Paperback, December 2000
Bear Book by John Rothchild
Paperback, November 2000
One Up on Wall Street by John Rothchild
Paperback, August 2000