Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Concord Quartet by Samuel A. Schreiner

"We will walk on our own feet; we will work with our own hands; we will speak our own minds." ----Ralph Waldo Emerson, "The American Scholar," 1837 From the start of transcendentalism and Americaa s intellectual renaissance in the 1830s, to the Civil War and beyond, the story of four extraordinary friends whose lives shaped a nation "Beginning in the 1830s, coincidences that seem almost miraculous in retrospect brought together in Concord as friends and neighbors four men of very different temperaments and talents who shared the same conviction that the soul had a inherent power to grasp the trutha and that the truth would make men free of old constraints on thought and behavior. In addition to Emerson, a philosopher, there was Amos Bronson Alcott, an educator; Henry David Thoreau, a naturalist and rebel; and Nathaniel Hawthorne, a novelist. This book is the story of that unique and influential friendship in action, of the lives the friends led, and their work that resulted in an enduring change in their nationa s direction." ----From the Prologue

Buy The Concord Quartet by Samuel A. Schreiner from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780471646631
ISBN-10: 0471646636
Format: Hardback
(241mm x 164mm x 23mm)
Pages: 256
Imprint: John Wiley & Sons Inc
Publisher: Turner Publishing Company
Publish Date: 1-Aug-2006
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - The Concord Quartet by Samuel A. Schreiner

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Concord Quartet book by Samuel A. Schreiner and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Samuel A. Schreiner

Samuel A. Schreiner Jr., a veteran journalist and former senior editor at Readera s Digest, is the author of both novels and nonfiction, including The Trials of Mrs. Lincoln, Henry Clay Frick: The Gospel of Greed, and The Passionate Beechers: A Family Saga of Sanctity and Scandal That Changed America. He lives in Darien, Connecticut.