1300 36 33 32

Louis Moreau Gottschalk (1829 69) is still remembered as one of the most interesting early American composers, a composer whose work is still performed and enjoyed. This collection of Gottschalk's major piano music shows the wide range of his talent from the "wild, languishing" derivations on Negro and Creole folk melodies to his elegant and moving concert and salon compositions.Included are such pieces as "Bamboula, Danse de Negres," "The Banjo, Grotesque Fantasie, Mexican Sketch," "La Savane, Ballade Creole," "Manchega, Etude de Concert," "La Gallina, Danse Cubaine," "Souvenir de Porto Rico, Marche des Gibaros," "Sixieme Ballade," "The Dying Poet, Meditation," "The Last Hope, Religious Meditation," "Ses Yeux, Polka de Concert," and 16 other pieces.This book has been especially designed as a playing edition the noteheads are large and easily readable at the piano, and the margins and spaces between staves are adequate for written notes, fingerings, and turnovers. It is also most useful for analysis."

Buy Piano Music of Louis Moreau Gottschalk book by L.M. Gottschalk from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780486216836
ISBN-10: 0486216837
Format: Paperback
(303mm x 234mm x 19mm)
Pages: 301
Imprint: Dover Publications Inc.
Publisher: Dover Publications Inc.
Publish Date: 1-Jun-1973
Country of Publication: United States


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Piano Music of Louis Moreau Gottschalk book by L.M. Gottschalk and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review