Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Piano Concertos Nos. 4 and 5 ("Emperor") by Ludwig van Beethoven

This volume contains two of Beethoven's most loved and widely performed piano concertos, printed in the traditional format for two pianos: Piano I is the solo part; Piano II, a piano reduction of the orchestral score.Concerto No. 4 in G Major, Op. 58, composed in 1805 06, is one of the great masterpieces of the form, perfectly designed, profoundly poetic. From its striking opening for the solo instrument a true innovation for the concerto concept through the slow movement's literal "conversation" between solo and orchestra, the work broke new ground as it reshaped the form. The powerful Concerto No. 5 in E-flat Major, Op. 73, called the "Emperor" for its grandeur, was Beethoven's last piano concerto. Composed in 1809, when the composer was 39, it is counted among the most popular concertos in the repertoire. Grove considers it one of the strongest works conceived by Beethoven, and by far the most "symphonic," from the "thunderous cadential celebration" of the very first bars to the brilliant rondo-finale.Both works are presented here in authoritative two-piano playing editions edited by Franz Kullak, one of the nineteenth century's leading piano editors and teachers of pianists. His classic format for two keyboards is the universal standard, for students and professionals alike, for learning and rehearsing all piano concertos. It gives the pianist the most accessible form and practical means to prepare a work for performance. To this practicality, Dover adds the convenience and economy of joining two major concertos within a single volume."

Buy Piano Concertos Nos. 4 and 5 ("Emperor") by Ludwig van Beethoven from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780486284422
ISBN-10: 0486284425
Format: Paperback
(305mm x 229mm x 9mm)
Pages: 160
Imprint: Dover Publications Inc.
Publisher: Dover Publications Inc.
Publish Date: 1-May-2002
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Piano Concertos Nos. 4 and 5 ("Emperor") by Ludwig van Beethoven

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Piano Concertos Nos. 4 and 5 ("Emperor") book by Ludwig van Beethoven and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Ludwig van Beethoven

The triumphant genius of Ludwig van Beethoven (17701827) casts a long shadow over classical music no other composer of the past two centuries has exercised an influence more profound than his. A product of the classicist generation, he was the first of the Romantics, and his exhilarating works remain undiminished in their powers of enchantment."

Books By Ludwig van Beethoven

Beethoven's Letters (1790-1826) by Ludwig van Beethoven
Paperback, November 2014
Beethoven's Letters by Ludwig van Beethoven
Paperback, July 2014
Fidelio by Ludwig van Beethoven
Paperback, April 2011
Ludwig Van Beethoven - Symphonies Nos. 1 to 9 in Full Score by Ludwig van Beethoven
Paperback / softback, September 2009