Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Complete Piano Sonatas, Series 2 by Nikolai Medtner

Faced with decades of shifting styles and music trends that characterized the early decades of the twentieth centuries, Nikolai Medtner remained faithful to the classical masters' roots. This two-volume series of Medtner's complete sonatas includes a Preface by Eugene Istomin, Performance Notes by Geoffrey Tozer, and an Editorial Note by Marc-Andre Hamelin. A must for pianists seeking alternatives to the core group of "standard" sonatas of this century, these works range from intermediate to very difficult.Series I features Sonata in F Minor, Op. 5; Sonatas Nos. 2, 3, and 4 of Sonatentriade, Op. 11; and three others. Series II comprises the Russian composer's final seven sonatas: Sonate-Ballade, Op. 27; Sonata in A Minor, Op. 30; Sonata-Reminiscenza, Op. 38, No. 1; Sonata tragica, Op. 39, No. 5; Sonata romantica, Op. 53, No 1; Sonata minacciosa, Op. 53, No. 2; and Sonate-Idylle, Op. 56. A bonus selection of three melodies includes "Canzona matinata," "Canzona seranata," and "Alla Reminiscenza."

Buy The Complete Piano Sonatas, Series 2 by Nikolai Medtner from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780486299792
ISBN-10: 0486299791
Format: Paperback
(311mm x 235mm x mm)
Imprint: Dover Publications Inc.
Publisher: Dover Publications Inc.
Publish Date: 1-Jun-1998
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - The Complete Piano Sonatas, Series 2 by Nikolai Medtner

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Complete Piano Sonatas, Series 2 book by Nikolai Medtner and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Nikolai Medtner

Complete Piano Sonatas, Series 1 by Nikolai Medtner
Paperback, June 1998