1300 36 33 32

Commissioned by Serge Diaghilev for the Ballets Russes, Stravinsky's score for the ballet Petrushka was an immediate sensation at its Paris premiere in 1911. Brilliantly orchestrated in bold, unheard-of instrumental colors, this work is filled with Russian folksongs as well as new and striking harmonies. Alternately poignant and splendidly imposing, the score is one of the most popular and acclaimed works of the twentieth century. Petrushka is published here in full score with English titling, stage directions, and a detailed table of contents. Ideal for study in the classroom, at home, or in the concert hall, this affordable, high-quality, conveniently sized volume will be the edition of choice for music students and music lovers alike.

Buy Petrushka book by Igor Stravinsky from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780486408705
ISBN-10: 0486408701
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 152mm x 10mm)
Imprint: Dover Publications Inc.
Publisher: Dover Publications Inc.
Publish Date: 31-Dec-1999
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Petrushka book by Igor Stravinsky and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Igor Stravinsky

The leading composer of his day, Igor Stravinsky experimented with virtually every technique of 20th century music. Throughout his long and prolific career, he produced symphonies, concertos, choral works, operas, and ballets.

Books By Author Igor Stravinsky

Oedipus Rex by Igor Stravinsky

Oedipus Rex

Paperback, April 2011
Memories and Commentaries by Igor Stravinsky

Memories and Commentaries

Hardback, October 2002
Autobiography by Igor Stravinsky

An Autobiography

Paperback, January 1999
Oedipus Rex/Symphony of Psalms by Igor Stravinsky

Oedipus Rex/Symphony of Psalms

Paperback, October 1998