Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

With the premiere in 1908 of Rapsodie Espagnole, Ravel's first entirely orchestral composition, the French composer achieved renown as a highly original and imaginative composer. In 1911, he recast the Mother Goose Suite, his extremely successful music for piano four-hands, as an orchestral work. Based on five fairy tales among them "Sleeping Beauty," "Tom Thumb," and "Beauty and the Beast" this collection of children's pieces continues to enchant listeners of all ages with its variety of moods, from jubilation to haunting despair. In 1910, more than a decade after its initial appearance as a piano work, Ravel transcribed his evocative Pavane for a Dead Princess for orchestra. To this day, it continues to be one of his best-known, most frequently performed compositions.The rich orchestral settings of these three works have made them favorites among concert-goers around the world, ensuring the popularity of this full, authoritative, and inexpensive edition."

Buy Maurice Ravel book by Maurice Ravel from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780486418995
ISBN-10: 0486418995
Format: Paperback
(298mm x 229mm x 13mm)
Pages: 160
Imprint: Dover Publications Inc.
Publisher: Dover Publications Inc.
Publish Date: 8-Oct-2001
Country of Publication: United States


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Maurice Ravel book by Maurice Ravel and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Author Maurice Ravel

Daphnis and Chloe by Maurice Ravel

Daphnis and Chloe

Paperback, October 2006
Maurice Ravel by Maurice Ravel

Maurice Ravel

Paperback, November 2004
Pictures at an Exhibition by Maurice Ravel

Pictures at an Exhibition

Paperback, September 2002
Four Orchestral Works in Full Score by Maurice Ravel

Four Orchestral Works in Full Score

Paperback, January 2000