Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Bare-Bones Meditation by Joan Tollifson

This exuberant and amazing testament is the story of a woman born with only one hand. She grows up feeling different, discovers her lesbianism and bisexuality amid the tumultuous sixties, sinks into alcoholism and drug addiction, and eventually bottoms out. She finds meaning as a political and disability rights activist, and eventually embraces first Zen Buddhism and then a very bare-bones form of spirituality which indeed has no form. Joan Tollifson describes meditation as "moment-to-moment presence that excludes nothing and sticks to nothing." Here is spiritual work happening right in the middle of everyday American life with all its complexity and ambiguities - ordinary, messy, and accessible to everyone. Bare-Bones Meditation reveals the inner process of the mind in a way that hasn't been done before, and Tollifson's account is beautifully written - unbuttoned, intense, and from the heart.

Buy Bare-Bones Meditation by Joan Tollifson from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780517887929
ISBN-10: 0517887924
Format: Paperback
(205mm x 132mm x 17mm)
Pages: 239
Imprint: Random House USA Paperbacks
Publisher: Random House USA Inc
Publish Date: 23-Jan-1997
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - Bare-Bones Meditation by Joan Tollifson

Book Reviews - Bare-Bones Meditation by Joan Tollifson

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Bare-Bones Meditation book by Joan Tollifson and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Joan Tollifson

Journey Home by Joan Tollifson
Paperback / softback, December 2014
Nothing to Grasp by Joan Tollifson
Paperback, August 2012
Painting the Sidewalk with Water by Joan Tollifson
Paperback, August 2010
Awake in the Heartland by Joan Tollifson
Paperback, May 2006