Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Suspended Music by Lothar von Falkenhausen

The Chinese made the world's first bronze chime-bells, which they used to perform ritual music, particularly during the Shang and Zhou dynasties (ca. 1700-221 B.C.). Lothar von Falkenhausen's rich and detailed study reconstructs how the music of these bells - the only Bronze Age instruments that can still be played - may have sounded and how it was conceptualized in theoretical terms. His analysis and discussion of the ritual, political, and technical aspects of this music provide a unique window into ancient Chinese culture. This is the first interdisciplinary perspective on recent archaeological finds that have transformed our understanding of ancient Chinese music. Of great significance to the understanding of Chinese culture in its crucial formative stage, it provides a fresh point of departure for exploring later Asian musical history and offers great possibilities for comparisons with music worldwide.

Buy Suspended Music by Lothar von Falkenhausen from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780520073784
ISBN-10: 0520073789
Format: Hardback
(260mm x 184mm x mm)
Pages: 567
Imprint: University of California Press
Publisher: University of California Press
Publish Date: 16-Mar-1994
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Suspended Music by Lothar von Falkenhausen

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Suspended Music book by Lothar von Falkenhausen and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Lothar von Falkenhausen

Lothar von Falkenhausen is Assistant Professor of Art History at the University of California, Riverside.

Books By Lothar von Falkenhausen

Birth of an Empire by Lothar von Falkenhausen
Paperback, October 2013