Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Piers Plowman by George Russell

This definitive and long-awaited edition of the C Version of "Piers Plowman" now joins the California editions of the A and B Versions to complete the set of "Piers Plowman" texts prepared under the general editorship of George Kane. "Piers Plowman" is the single most important Middle English poem, with the exception of Chaucer's "Canterbury Tales." The forty-eight extant manuscripts of the poem are classified in three main versions: A, the earliest, written about 1362; B, a longer revision, written about 1378; and C, the most finished and public form, written about 1394. The basis of this edition is the text in Huntingon Library MS 143, corrected and restored from the evidence of all known manuscripts of the C tradition to that of the first fair copy of the poet's revision materials. The correction and restoration are described in an extensive introduction, and there is a full apparatus of variant readings. Two appendices cover excluded lines and passages and the Ilchester Prologue.

Buy Piers Plowman by George Russell from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780520210585
ISBN-10: 0520210581
Format: Hardback
(240mm x 165mm x 38mm)
Pages: 711
Imprint: University of California Press
Publisher: University of California Press
Publish Date: 1-Apr-1997
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Piers Plowman by George Russell

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Piers Plowman book by George Russell and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - George Russell

George Russell is Professor Emeritus of the University of Melbourne. George Kane is Emeritus Professor of English Language and Medieval Literature of the University of London and author of "Middle English Literature" (1951), "Chaucer" (1984), and "Chaucer and Langland" (California, 1989).