Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Gone by Fanny Howe

This collection of new poems by one of the most respected poets in the United States uses motifs of advance and recovery, doubt and conviction - in an emotional relation to the known world. Heralded as 'one of our most vital, unclassifiable writers' by the "Voice Literary Supplement", Fanny Howe has published more than twenty books and is the recipient of the Gold Medal for Poetry from the Commonwealth Club of California. In addition, her "Selected Poems" received the 2001 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize for the Most Outstanding Book of Poetry Published in 2000 from the Academy of American Poets. The poems in "Gone" describe the transit of a psyche, driven by uncertainty and by love, through various stations and experiences. This volume of short poems and one lyrical essay, all written in the last five years, is broken into five parts; and the longest of these, "The Passion," consecrates the contradictions between these two emotions. "The New York Times" Book Review said, 'Howe has made a long-term project of trying to determine how we fit into God's world, and her aim is both true and marvellously free of sentimental piety'. With "Gone", readers will have the opportunity to experience firsthand Howe's continuation of that elusive and fascinating endeavor.

Buy Gone by Fanny Howe from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780520238107
ISBN-10: 0520238109
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 140mm x 6mm)
Pages: 128
Imprint: University of California Press
Publisher: University of California Press
Publish Date: 30-Apr-2003
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - Gone by Fanny Howe

Book Reviews - Gone by Fanny Howe

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Gone book by Fanny Howe and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Fanny Howe

Fanny Howe is Professor Emeritus of Writing and Literature at the University of California, San Diego. She is the author of more than twenty books of fiction and poetry, including Indivisible (2001), Selected Poems (California, 2000), and One Crossed Out (1998).

Books By Fanny Howe

Needle's Eye by Fanny Howe
Paperback, November 2016
Torpor by Fanny Howe
Paperback, January 2015
Discipline by Fanny Howe
Paperback, March 2011
Wall of Two by Fanny Howe
Paperback, September 2007