Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Why/Why Not by Martha Clare Ronk

Why/Why Not presents a speaker caught in quandaries created by changing perspectives, fervors, and locales. Why do we act one way here and another there; why can't a mind stay made up; why do we hate and love at the same time; why does memory fade or insist; why does the ordinary seem so uncanny? These questions are captured in lines that collide and merge, in irreverent and offhand jibes, and in plaintive repetitions. Why/Why Not moves across a vivid terrain--the stage of Hamlet, Phillip Marlowe's Los Angeles, Prague, paintings and gardens--to push through a tangle of ways to make sense of the world. Martha Ronk's poetic language is that of the everyday slightly skewed, as if pieces of an ordinary sentence were missing. Ronk's poems use the repetitive and the banal to explore ways in which language is intertwined with thought and experience.

Buy Why/Why Not by Martha Clare Ronk from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780520238114
ISBN-10: 0520238117
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 140mm x 6mm)
Pages: 104
Imprint: University of California Press
Publisher: University of California Press
Publish Date: 30-Apr-2003
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - Why/Why Not by Martha Clare Ronk

Book Reviews - Why/Why Not by Martha Clare Ronk

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Why/Why Not book by Martha Clare Ronk and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Martha Clare Ronk

Martha Ronk is Irma and Jay Price Professor of English at Occidental College. Among her books are Eyetrouble (1998), State of Mind (1995), and Displeasures of the Table (2001).

Books By Martha Clare Ronk

Vertigo by Martha Clare Ronk
Paperback, September 2007
Desire in L.A. by Martha Clare Ronk
Paperback, February 1990