Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Bach's Cycle, Mozart's Arrow by Karol Berger

In this erudite and elegantly composed argument, Karol Berger uses the works of Monteverdi, Bach, Mozart, and Beethoven to support two groundbreaking claims: first, that it was only in the later eighteenth century that music began to take the flow of time from the past to the future seriously; second, that this change in the structure of musical time was an aspect of a larger transformation in the way educated Europeans began to imagine and think about time with the onset of modernity, a part of a shift from the premodern Christian outlook to the modern post-Christian world view. Until this historical moment, as Berger illustrates in his analysis of Bach's "St. Matthew Passion", music was simply 'in time'. Its successive events unfolded one after another, but the distinction between past and future, earlier and later, was not central to the way the music was experienced and understood. But after the shift, as he finds in looking at Mozart's "Don Giovanni", the experience of linear time is transformed into music's essential subject matter; the cycle of time unbends and becomes an arrow. Berger complements these musical case studies with a rich survey of the philosophical, theological, and literary trends influencing artists during this period.

Buy Bach's Cycle, Mozart's Arrow by Karol Berger from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780520257979
ISBN-10: 0520257979
Format: Paperback
(229mm x 152mm x 31mm)
Pages: 432
Imprint: University of California Press
Publisher: University of California Press
Publish Date: 1-Aug-2008
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - Bach's Cycle, Mozart's Arrow by Karol Berger

Book Reviews - Bach's Cycle, Mozart's Arrow by Karol Berger

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Bach's Cycle, Mozart's Arrow book by Karol Berger and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Karol Berger

Karol Berger is the Osgood Hooker Professor in Fine Arts at Stanford University. His books include A Theory of Art (2000) .

Books By Karol Berger

Beyond Reason by Karol Berger
Hardback, November 2016
Music and the Aesthetics of Modernity by Karol Berger
Hardback, March 2005
Musica Ficta by Karol Berger
Paperback, January 2004
Theory of Art by Karol Berger
Paperback, November 2002