Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

This 2002 book seeks to identify the motivations of individual perpetrators of ethnic violence. The work develops four models, labeled Fear, Hatred, Resentment, and Rage, gleaned from existing social science literatures. The empirical chapters apply these four models to important events of ethnic conflict in Eastern Europe, from the 1905 Russian Revolution to the collapse of Yugoslavia in the 1990s. Each historical chapter generates questions about the timing and target of ethnic violence. The four models are then applied to the case, to learn which does the best job in explaining the observed patterns of ethnic conflict. The findings challenge conventional wisdom, in that the Resentment narrative, centered on a sense of unjust group status, provides the best fit for a variety of cases. While Fear, Hatred, and Rage do motivate hostile actions, Resentment pervasively appears to inflame ethnic animosity and drive outcomes in the timing and pattern of action.

Buy Understanding Ethnic Violence book by Roger D. Petersen from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780521007740
ISBN-10: 0521007747
Format: Paperback
(228mm x 152mm x 18mm)
Pages: 314
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 2-Sep-2002
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Understanding Ethnic Violence book by Roger D. Petersen and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Author Roger D. Petersen

Western Intervention in the Balkans by Roger D. Petersen

Western Intervention in the Balkans

Paperback, October 2011
Resistance and Rebellion by Roger D. Petersen

Resistance and Rebellion

Paperback, December 2006
Understanding Ethnic Violence by Roger D. Petersen

Understanding Ethnic Violence

Hardback, September 2002