Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Compliance Quantified by Rudolf Avenhaus

International agreements, such as those governing arms control or the environment, virtually always require some degree of verification of information, in order that compliance can be established. To ensure that the verification process can be regarded as efficient, effective and impartial, it is important to have a mathematical model of it. One can be derived by applying methods from statistics and the theory of non-cooperative games, developed in part by John Nash, who received a Nobel prize in 1994 for his work. The methods permit the development of rational verification strategies, as well as such fundamental concepts as guaranteed probability of detection, timeliness of inspections and the deterrence of illegal activity. Here, the required theory is introduced gradually in the context of specific real-world examples. The only prerequisites are simple calculus and statistics, so the book should be accessible to a broad range of scientists and non-scientists, in industrial, academic or governmental environments.

Buy Compliance Quantified by Rudolf Avenhaus from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780521019194
ISBN-10: 0521019192
Format: Paperback
(228mm x 152mm x 14mm)
Pages: 272
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 25-Jun-2005
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Compliance Quantified by Rudolf Avenhaus

Book Reviews - Compliance Quantified by Rudolf Avenhaus

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Compliance Quantified book by Rudolf Avenhaus and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Rudolf Avenhaus

Compliance Quantified by Rudolf Avenhaus
Hardback, May 1996