Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Louis Spohr by Clive Brown

Published in Spohr's 200th anniversary year, this book is the first to deal at length with both the life and the works of a composer who exerted a strong influence on the development of nineteenth-century music. Spohr was hailed in his own day as a worthy successor to Mozart and Beethoven, yet in the present century his former renown has gone largely unrecognised. Clive Brown gives an account of Spohr's life and character, and examines the areas in which his impact was most profound. He discusses Spohr's compositions critically and provides a stylistic and aesthetic assessment of his work. The chronological account of Spohr's life unfolds in parallel with the description of his musical output; a final chapter considers the decline of his reputation after his death. This volume will be of interest not only to scholars and students but also to general musical readers. And, since so little of Spohr's very substantial output is available in modern editions and is seldom performed, the book will also prove useful to practical musicians in search of worthwhile music for performance.

Buy Louis Spohr by Clive Brown from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780521029056
ISBN-10: 0521029058
Format: Paperback
(228mm x 152mm x 16mm)
Pages: 380
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 18-Feb-2006
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Louis Spohr by Clive Brown

Book Reviews - Louis Spohr by Clive Brown

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Louis Spohr book by Clive Brown and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Clive Brown

Walks for All Ages Leicestershire & Rutland by Clive Brown
Paperback, March 2016
Walks for All Ages Essex by Clive Brown
Paperback, March 2016
Walks for All Ages Cambridgeshire by Clive Brown
Paperback, June 2015
Portrait of Mendelssohn by Clive Brown
Paperback, January 2014