Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Tennessee Williams and Elia Kazan by Brenda Murphy

This is a book-length study of the collaboration between Tennessee Williams and Elia Kazan. Their intense creative relationship, fuelled by a deep personal affinity that endured until Williams's death, lasted from 1947 until 1960. The production of A Streetcar Named Desire established Williams as America's greatest playwright and Kazan as its most important director; together they created some of the most influential theatrical events of the post-war era. In this book Brenda Murphy analyses this artistic partnership and the plays and theatrical techniques the artists developed collaboratively in their productions of A Streetcar Named Desire, Camino Real, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, and Sweet Bird of Youth. In addition, Murphy suggests alternative ways to examine the working relationship between playwright and director which can be applied to other practitioners in twentieth-century drama. The book contains numerous illustrations from important productions.

Buy Tennessee Williams and Elia Kazan by Brenda Murphy from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780521035248
ISBN-10: 0521035244
Format: Paperback
(228mm x 152mm x 14mm)
Pages: 236
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 8-Nov-2006
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Tennessee Williams and Elia Kazan by Brenda Murphy

Book Reviews - Tennessee Williams and Elia Kazan by Brenda Murphy

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Tennessee Williams and Elia Kazan book by Brenda Murphy and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Brenda Murphy

National Flood Insurance by Brenda Murphy
Hardback, February 2016
Theatre of Tennessee Williams by Brenda Murphy
Paperback, January 2014
After the Fall by Brenda Murphy
Paperback, January 2011