Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Bach, Handel, Scarlatti 1685-1985 by Peter Williams

1985 celebrated the 300th anniversary of the births of Bach, Handel and Scarlatti. This volume covers all three composers and contains essays from an international team of scholars. Some essays make a contribution towards a better understanding of one or other composer, but at least half of them are concerned with ideas connecting two or even all three of them. The essays are concerned with many aspects of the music - technical, chronological, critical, speculative, theoretical and (importantly) practical - and the distinguished contributors have often endeavoured to ask questions rather than jump to conclusions. Every essay makes fresh points and can open up new avenues for players and (in the broadest sense) students, especially in the present climate of wishing to return to 'authentic conditions of performance'.

Buy Bach, Handel, Scarlatti 1685-1985 by Peter Williams from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780521082136
ISBN-10: 0521082137
Format: Paperback
(244mm x 170mm x 20mm)
Pages: 384
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 30-Jun-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Bach, Handel, Scarlatti 1685-1985 by Peter Williams

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Bach, Handel, Scarlatti 1685-1985 book by Peter Williams and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Peter Williams

Peter Williams (1937-2016) held the first Chair in Performance Practice in Britain at the University of Edinburgh, where he was first Director of the Russell Collection of Harpsichords and latterly Dean of Music. He was also the first Arts and Sciences Distinguished Chair at Duke University, North Carolina. He authored many books, including The European Organ (1966), Bach: The Goldberg Variations (Cambridge, 2001), Figured Bass Accompaniment (1970), The Organ in Western Culture, 750-1250 (Cambridge, 1993), The Chromatic Fourth during Four Centuries of Music (1998) and The Organ Music of J. S. Bach (Cambridge, 2003).

Books By Peter Williams

Bach by Peter Williams
Hardback, September 2016
Sustainable Tourism by Peter Williams
Hardback, July 2016
Class and Space by Peter Williams
Paperback, December 2015