1300 36 33 32

The Rake's Progress is Stravinsky's biggest work and one of the few great operas written since the 1920s, rare too for the unusual quality of its libretto, by Auden and Kallman. Its importance is undisputed, but so too are the problems it raises: problems of both performance and understanding, caused by the irony with which it is so thoroughly permeated. In aspects of style and operatic convention it looks back to the eighteenth century, and in particular to the operas of Mozart and da Ponte, while making references also to other periods, to operas from Monteverdi to Verdi. Yet at the same time it is wholly a work of the twentieth-century, and indeed it is centrally concerned with the impossibility of return, artistic, psychological or actual, as well as with the nature and limitation of human free will. The Rake's Progress is not one of unbridled dissipation but rather, more interestingly, one of attachment to naive notions of freedom and choice, and his tragedy is that he can never go back.

Buy Igor Stravinsky: The Rake's Progress book by Paul Griffiths from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780521281997
ISBN-10: 0521281997
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 138mm x 7mm)
Pages: 124
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 2-Sep-1982
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Igor Stravinsky: The Rake's Progress book by Paul Griffiths and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Books By Author Paul Griffiths

Tilted Cup - Noh Stories by Paul Griffiths

The Tilted Cup - Noh Stories

Paperback, March 2014
Genetics and Philosophy by Paul Griffiths

Genetics and Philosophy

Paperback, April 2013
Puzzling Questions, Workbook by Paul Griffiths

Puzzling Questions, Workbook

Paperback, April 2012
How Can I be Happy? by Paul Griffiths

How Can I be Happy?

Paperback, April 2012