Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

There has been little serious attempt in Britain to deal critically and historically with the subject of radio drama. This volume of essays concentrates upon a small group of influential writers who have devoted all or part of their attention to writing plays for radio. The introduction charts the development of radio drama since its inception in the 1920s and its changing relationships with the theatre and later with television. It shows how the early ideal of broadcasting significant works of established literature and drama helped to provide a broad foundation for the growth of a body of dramatic literature which fully exploited the medium's reliance upon sound alone. Separate contributions contain full appraisals of the radio writing of Louis MacNeice, Dylan Thomas and Henry Reed, while detailed studies of particular aspects of the work of Dorothy L. Sayers, Susan Hill, Giles Cooper and Samuel Beckett explore the practical as well as the critical issues involved in the study of radio drama.

Buy British Radio Drama book by John Drakakis from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780521293839
ISBN-10: 0521293839
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 138mm x 17mm)
Pages: 296
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 9-Apr-1981
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about British Radio Drama book by John Drakakis and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Author John Drakakis

Macbeth by John Drakakis


Paperback, July 2013
Gothic Shakespeares by John Drakakis

Gothic Shakespeares

Paperback, December 2008
Merchant of Venice' by John Drakakis

'The Merchant of Venice'

Paperback, April 2006
Merchant of Venice by John Drakakis

The Merchant of Venice

Hardback, April 2006