Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Cavour and Garibaldi 1860 by Denis Mack Smith

First published in 1954, and now re-issued with a fresh preface, Cavour and Garibaldi remains the single most important contribution yet made by an English-speaking historian to the study of the Risorgimento. Devoted to seven crucial months in 1860, the work examines in detail the sequence of events between the Sicilian rebellion in April, and the absorption of all the south into the Italian kingdom of Victor Emmanuel in November. It shows, in the contrasting priorities of the two great leaders, the creative tensions that underlay the movement for Italian unification. Against Cavour's desire to extend to the rest of the peninsula the benefits of Piedmontese liberalism, the author juxtaposes Garibaldi's dream of a united Italy, achieved if necessary by force. The diplomat and political strategist is compared with the soldier and popular hero, and in the comparison it is Garibaldi who emerges as the realist, and Cavour as the inspired but dogmatic muddler.

Buy Cavour and Garibaldi 1860 by Denis Mack Smith from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780521316378
ISBN-10: 0521316375
Format: Paperback
(228mm x 152mm x 27mm)
Pages: 480
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 18-Apr-1985
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Cavour and Garibaldi 1860 by Denis Mack Smith

Book Reviews - Cavour and Garibaldi 1860 by Denis Mack Smith

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Cavour and Garibaldi 1860 book by Denis Mack Smith and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Denis Mack Smith

Mazzini by Denis Mack Smith
Paperback, July 1996
Italy and its Monarchy by Denis Mack Smith
Paperback, March 1992
Making of Italy, 1796-1866 by Denis Mack Smith
Hardback, April 1988