Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Formal Specification and Design by L. M. G. Feijs

Formal specification is a method for precisely modelling computer-based systems that combines concepts from software engineering and mathematical logic. In this book the authors describe algebraic and state-based specification techniques from the unified view of the Common Object-oriented Language for Design, COLD, a wide-spectrum language in the tradition of VDM and Z. The kernel language is explained in detail, with many examples, including: set representation, a display device, an INGRES-like database system, and a line editor. Fundamental techniques such as initial algebra semantics, loose semantics, partial functions, hiding, sharing, predicate and dynamic logic, abstraction functions, representation of invariants and black-box correctness are also presented. More advanced ideas, for example Horn logic, and large systems are given in the final part. Appendices contain full details of the language's syntax and a specification library. Techniques for software development and design are emphasised throughout, so the book will be an excellent choice for courses in these areas.

Buy Formal Specification and Design by L. M. G. Feijs from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780521435925
ISBN-10: 0521435927
Format: Paperback
(247mm x 174mm x 19mm)
Pages: 352
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 10-Nov-2005
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Formal Specification and Design by L. M. G. Feijs

Book Reviews - Formal Specification and Design by L. M. G. Feijs

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Formal Specification and Design book by L. M. G. Feijs and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review