Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Die Meistersinger von Nurnberg is Wagner's only mature comedy, and one of the richest and most profound in the history of music. This book presents an informative and stimulating study of an opera that occupies a particular place in music lovers' affections, yet always has more to reveal. John Warrack traces the evolution of the work from plans for a light comic opera, through all the drafts and the literary influences on them, into the eventual comedy; and he then studies the music in depth. He also gives an account of what Wagner found in the historical Mastersingers and their music. Lucy Beckett explores the influence of Schopenhauer on the work, and examines the complexity of its expressive methods. Michael Tanner suggests new ways of interpreting the opera's inner and outer worlds. There is a history of significant productions by Patrick Carnegy. The volume includes a full synopsis, bibliography and three appendices.

Buy Richard Wagner: Die Meistersinger von Nurnberg book by John Warrack from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780521448956
ISBN-10: 0521448956
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 138mm x 11mm)
Pages: 188
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 8-Sep-1994
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Richard Wagner: Die Meistersinger von Nurnberg book by John Warrack and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Author John Warrack

German Opera by John Warrack

German Opera

Paperback, November 2006
Czech Opera by John Warrack

Czech Opera

Paperback, October 2005
Richard Wagner: Die Meistersinger von Nurnberg by John Warrack

Richard Wagner: Die Meistersinger von Nurnberg

Hardback, September 1994
Italian Opera by John Warrack

Italian Opera

Paperback, March 1994