Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

This collection of essays by a group of leading authorities is addressed primarily to a non-specialist readership, with the aim of introducing people and achievements associated with the University of Cambridge over the past 150 years. It explains, in simple terms, what has been done in a wide variety of fields - including philosophy (Ray Monk on Russell, Peter Hacker on Wittgenstein, Robert Grant on Oakeshott); economics (Geoffrey Harcourt on Keynes); anthropology (Ernest Gellner on Frazer); the study of English (Stephen Heath on Richards and Leavis). Some who have made important contributions to Cambridge science describe their own work and discoveries - Max Perutz in molecular biology; Antony Hewish in radioastronomy; Simon Conway Morris in palaeontology. As a whole the book offers an intellectual portrait of many of modern Cambridge's most notable achievements which will be of interest to a broad range of readers within the University and far beyond.

Buy Cambridge Minds book by Richard Mason from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780521456258
ISBN-10: 0521456258
Format: Paperback
(228mm x 152mm x 15mm)
Pages: 252
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 1-Sep-1994
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Cambridge Minds book by Richard Mason and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Author Richard Mason

Who Killed Piet Barol? by Richard Mason

Who Killed Piet Barol?

Paperback, July 2017
History of a Pleasure Seeker by Richard Mason

History of a Pleasure Seeker

Paperback / softback, November 2012
Drowning People by Richard Mason

The Drowning People

Paperback, March 2011
Lighted Rooms by Richard Mason

The Lighted Rooms

Paperback, May 2009