1300 36 33 32

Charles Ives's massive Concord Sonata, his second sonata for piano, named after the town of Concord in Massachusetts, is central to his output and clearly reflects his aesthetic perspective. Geoffrey Block's wide-ranging 1996 account of the work thus provides an ideal introduction to this fascinating composer. As well as a discussion of the Sonata's reception history from 1920 to the time of publication, and a chapter on its compositional genesis, this handbook includes a detailed narrative of the motivic content as well as a historical and analytical survey of the work's borrowings, both certifiable and newly proposed. The programmatic element of the Sonata is explored in the context of Ives's personal vision of four literary subjects associated with the town of Concord between 1840 and 1860: Emerson, Thoreau, Hawthorne, and the Alcotts.

Buy Ives: Concord Sonata, Piano Sonata No. 2 ("Concord, Mass., 1840-1860") book by Professor Geoffrey Block from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780521498210
ISBN-10: 052149821X
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 138mm x 8mm)
Pages: 128
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 13-Nov-1996
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Ives: Concord Sonata, Piano Sonata No. 2 ("Concord, Mass., 1840-1860") book by Professor Geoffrey Block and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Books By Author Professor Geoffrey Block

Frank Loesser by Professor Geoffrey Block

Frank Loesser

Paperback, May 2015
Jerome Kern by Professor Geoffrey Block

Jerome Kern

Paperback, May 2015
Enchanted Evenings by Professor Geoffrey Block

Enchanted Evenings

Paperback, November 2009
Richard Rodgers Reader by Professor Geoffrey Block

The Richard Rodgers Reader

Paperback, July 2006