Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

This book is the first full-length analytical study of the music of Ruth Crawford Seeger. Crawford was a pivotal figure in the American avant-garde, the so-called 'ultra-modern' movement of the 1920s and 1930s. In addition to her historical significance, as part of the first generation of American composers to step out from the shadow of European models, her music deserves attention for its original and compelling structures and its expressive power. Crawford created new ways of writing melodies, of combining them in heterogeneous juxtaposition, of projecting musical ideas over the largest spans of time, and of structuring rhythm and dynamics alongside pitch. In her innovative musical language, Crawford wrote a small handful of works that should now take their rightful place in the musical modernist canon.

Buy The Music of Ruth Crawford Seeger book by Joseph N. Straus from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780521548182
ISBN-10: 0521548187
Format: Paperback
(246mm x 189mm x 15mm)
Pages: 276
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 18-Dec-2003
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Music of Ruth Crawford Seeger book by Joseph N. Straus and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Author Joseph N. Straus

Introduction to Post-Tonal Theory by Joseph N. Straus

Introduction to Post-Tonal Theory

Hardback, March 2016
Art of Tonal Analysis by Joseph N. Straus

The Art of Tonal Analysis

Hardback, January 2016
Student Workbook by Joseph N. Straus

Student Workbook

Paperback, December 2015
Twelve-tone Music in America by Joseph N. Straus

Twelve-tone Music in America

Paperback, May 2014