Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Wishing all of our customers a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year - The Team at Boomerang Books

Description - The Life of Richard Strauss by Bryan Gilliam

Richard Strauss saw an empire come and go, survived two world wars, witnessed the rise and fall of the Weimar Republic, endured the period of National Socialism, and died the year that Germany was officially divided into two separate states. All the while he enjoyed a successful career as composer, as conductor of international stature, as organizer for the rights of composers, and as colleague of and collaborator with some of the most important composers, writers, and artists of his day. This biography covers Strauss's early musical development, his emergence as a tone poet in the late nineteenth century, his turn to the stage at the beginning of the twentieth century, the successes and failures of the post-World War I era, the turbulent 1930s, and the period of the Second World War and its aftermath.

Buy The Life of Richard Strauss by Bryan Gilliam from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780521578950
ISBN-10: 0521578957
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 138mm x 14mm)
Pages: 212
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 19-Aug-1999
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - The Life of Richard Strauss by Bryan Gilliam

Book Reviews - The Life of Richard Strauss by Bryan Gilliam

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Life of Richard Strauss book by Bryan Gilliam and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Bryan Gilliam

Rounding Wagner's Mountain by Bryan Gilliam
Hardback, November 2014
Lyonel Feininger by Bryan Gilliam
Hardback, June 2011
Life of Richard Strauss by Bryan Gilliam
Hardback, August 1999
Richard Strauss's Elektra by Bryan Gilliam
Paperback, March 1996