Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Brahms: Clarinet Quintet by Colin Lawson

On its first appearance in 1891, Brahms' Clarinet Quintet was immediately recognised as a remarkable achievement, and a century later it still has the power to claim the hearts and minds of players and audiences alike. Widely regarded as Brahms' supreme achievement in the field of chamber music, the Clarinet Quintet is here placed in the context of the history of the clarinet and its repertory, and of Brahms' own compositions before 1891. The influence of the Meiningen clarinet virtuoso Richard Muhlfeld unleashed a new vein of creativity in Brahms, and this forms a basis for discussion, together with questions of performance practice (in relation to both clarinet and string quartet) and the legacy of Brahms' clarinet music. These chapters are complemented by a comprehensive analysis of the music.

Buy Brahms: Clarinet Quintet by Colin Lawson from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780521588317
ISBN-10: 0521588316
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 138mm x 9mm)
Pages: 132
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 8-Jan-1998
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Brahms: Clarinet Quintet by Colin Lawson

Book Reviews - Brahms: Clarinet Quintet by Colin Lawson

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Brahms: Clarinet Quintet book by Colin Lawson and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Colin Lawson

Royal College of Music by Colin Lawson
Paperback, May 2015
Cambridge History of Musical Performance by Colin Lawson
Hardback, February 2012
Cambridge Companion to the Orchestra by Colin Lawson
Paperback, April 2003
Early Flute by Colin Lawson
Paperback, March 2003