Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Stravinsky's Late Music by Joseph N. Straus

This book is the first to be devoted to the music of Stravinsky's last compositional period. In the early 1950s, Stravinsky's compositional style began to change and evolve with astonishing rapidity. He abandoned the musical neoclassicism to which he had been committed for the preceding three decades and, with the stimulus provided by his newly gained knowledge of the music of Schoenberg and Webern, launched himself on a remarkable voyage of compositional discovery. The book focuses on five historical, analytical, and interpretive issues: Stravinsky's relationship to his serial predecessors and contemporaries; his compositional process; the problem of creating formal continuity in a repertoire so obviously discontinuous in so many ways; the problem of writing serial harmony; and the problem of expression and meaning. Challenging conventional interpretations, the book shows that Stravinsky's serial music is not only of great historical significance, but also of astonishing structural originality and emotional power.

Buy Stravinsky's Late Music by Joseph N. Straus from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780521602884
ISBN-10: 0521602882
Format: Paperback
(247mm x 174mm x 15mm)
Pages: 280
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 2-Feb-2004
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Stravinsky's Late Music by Joseph N. Straus

Book Reviews - Stravinsky's Late Music by Joseph N. Straus

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Stravinsky's Late Music book by Joseph N. Straus and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Joseph N. Straus

Joseph N. Straus is Professor of Music at Queens College and Graduate Center, City University of New York.

Books By Joseph N. Straus

Introduction to Post-Tonal Theory by Joseph N. Straus
Hardback, January 2016
Art of Tonal Analysis by Joseph N. Straus
Hardback, January 2016
Student Workbook by Joseph N. Straus
Paperback, December 2015
Twelve-tone Music in America by Joseph N. Straus
Paperback, November 2013