Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Shakespeare's Tragedies by Alexander Leggatt

Shakespeare's Tragedies: Violation and Identity traces the linked themes of violation and identity through seven Shakespearean tragedies, beginning with the rape of Lavinia in Titus Andronicus. The implications of this event - its physical and moral shock, the way it puts Lavinia's identity, and the whole notion of identity, into crisis - reverberate through Shakespeare's later tragedies. Through close, theatrically informed readings of Titus Andronicus, Romeo and Juliet, Hamlet, Troilus and Cressida, Othello, King Lear and Macbeth the book traces the way acts of violence provoke questions about the identities of the victims, the perpetrators, and the acts themselves. It shows that violation can be involved in the most innocent-looking acts, that words can be weapons, that interpretation itself can be a form of damage. Written in a clear, accessible style, this study provokes questions about the human implications of Shakespearean tragedy.

Buy Shakespeare's Tragedies by Alexander Leggatt from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780521608633
ISBN-10: 0521608635
Format: Paperback
(228mm x 152mm x 15mm)
Pages: 240
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 12-May-2005
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Shakespeare's Tragedies by Alexander Leggatt

Book Reviews - Shakespeare's Tragedies by Alexander Leggatt

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Shakespeare's Tragedies book by Alexander Leggatt and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Alexander Leggatt

Alexander Leggatt is Professor of English at University College, University of Toronto.

Books By Alexander Leggatt

Ben Jonson by Alexander Leggatt
Hardback, January 2017
Shakespeare's Comedy of Love by Alexander Leggatt
Paperback, September 2008
Bartholomew Fair by Alexander Leggatt
Paperback, April 2007
William Shakespeare's 'Macbeth' by Alexander Leggatt
Hardback, December 2005