Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

How should we respond when some of our basic beliefs are put into question? What makes a human body distinctively human? Why is truth an important good? These are among the questions explored in this 2006 collection of essays by Alasdair MacIntyre, one of the most creative and influential philosophers working today. Ten of MacIntyre's most influential essays written over almost thirty years are collected together here for the first time. They range over such topics as the issues raised by different types of relativism, what it is about human beings that cannot be understood by the natural sciences, the relationship between the ends of life and the ends of philosophical writing, and the relationship of moral philosophy to contemporary social practice. They will appeal to a wide range of readers across philosophy and especially in moral philosophy, political philosophy, and theology.

Buy The Tasks of Philosophy: Volume 1 book by Alasdair MacIntyre from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780521670616
ISBN-10: 0521670616
Format: Paperback
(228mm x 152mm x 13mm)
Pages: 246
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 8-Jun-2006
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Tasks of Philosophy: Volume 1 book by Alasdair MacIntyre and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Alasdair MacIntyre

Alasdair MacIntyre is Senior Research Professor of Philosophy at the University of Notre Dame. His publications include After Virtue (1981), Dependent Rational Animals (1999) and numerous journal articles.

Books By Author Alasdair MacIntyre

Ethics in the Conflicts of Modernity by Alasdair MacIntyre

Ethics in the Conflicts of Modernity

Hardback, November 2016
After Virtue by Alasdair MacIntyre

After Virtue

Paperback, April 2013
Dependent Rational Animals by Alasdair MacIntyre

Dependent Rational Animals

Paperback, April 2009
Naming Evil, Judging Evil by Alasdair MacIntyre

Naming Evil, Judging Evil

Hardback, October 2006