Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Classical Covariant Fields by Mark Burgess

This book discusses the classical foundations of field theory, using the language of variational methods and covariance. It explores the limits of what can be achieved with purely classical notions, and shows how these have a deep and important connection with the second quantized field theory, which follows on from the Schwinger Action Principle. The book takes a pragmatic view of field theory, focusing on issues which are usually omitted from quantum field theory texts and cataloging results which are often hard to find in the literature. Care is taken to explain how results arise and how to interpret them physically, for graduate students starting out in the field. Many physical examples are provided, making the book an ideal supplementary text for courses on elementary field theory, group theory and dynamical systems. It will also be a valuable reference for researchers already working in these and related areas.

Buy Classical Covariant Fields by Mark Burgess from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780521675772
ISBN-10: 0521675774
Format: Paperback
(247mm x 174mm x 28mm)
Pages: 552
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 3-Nov-2005
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Classical Covariant Fields by Mark Burgess

Book Reviews - Classical Covariant Fields by Mark Burgess

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Classical Covariant Fields book by Mark Burgess and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Mark Burgess

Mark Burgess obtained his PhD in theoretical physics from the University of Newcastle Upon Tyne in 1990. He held a Royal Society fellowship at the University of Oslo from 1991 to 1992 and then had a two-year postdoctoral fellowship from the Norwegian Research Council. Since 1994 he has been an associate professor at Oslo University College. Dr Burgess has been invited to lecture at universities and institutes throughout the world, and has published numerous articles, as well as five previous books.

Books By Mark Burgess

Winnie-the-Pooh Meets the Queen by Mark Burgess
Hardback, November 2016
Thinking in Promises by Mark Burgess
Paperback, July 2015
In Search of Certainty by Mark Burgess
Paperback, April 2015