Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Liberal Beginnings by Andreas Kalyvas

The book examines the origins and development of the modern liberal tradition and explores the relationship between republicanism and liberalism between 1750 and 1830. The authors consider the diverse settings of Scotland, the American colonies, the new United States, and France and examine the writings of six leading thinkers of this period: Adam Smith, Adam Ferguson, James Madison, Thomas Paine, Germaine de Stael, and Benjamin Constant. The book traces the process by which these thinkers transformed and advanced the republican project, both from within and by introducing new elements from without. Without compromising civic principles or abandoning republican language, they came to see that unrevised, the republican tradition could not grapple successfully with the political problems of their time. By investing new meanings, arguments, and justifications into existing republican ideas and political forms, these innovators fashioned a doctrine for a modern republic, the core of which was surprisingly liberal.

Buy Liberal Beginnings by Andreas Kalyvas from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780521728287
ISBN-10: 0521728282
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 138mm x 11mm)
Pages: 200
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 30-Jun-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Liberal Beginnings by Andreas Kalyvas

Book Reviews - Liberal Beginnings by Andreas Kalyvas

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Liberal Beginnings book by Andreas Kalyvas and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Andreas Kalyvas

Ira Katznelson is Ruggles Professor of Political Science and History, Columbia University. His most recent books are When Affirmative Action Was White (2005) and Desolation and Enlightenment: Political Knowledge After Total War, Totalitarianism, and the Holocaust (2003), which received the David and Helene Spitz Prize and the David Easton Award. Andreas Kalyvas is Assistant Professor in the Department of Politics at The New School for Social Research and the Eugene Lang College for Liberal Arts. He is the recipient of the 2002 Leo Strauss Award for the best doctoral dissertation in the field of political philosophy and the author of Democracy and the Politics of the Extraordinary: Max Weber, Carl Schmitt, Hannah Arendt (2008).

Books By Andreas Kalyvas

Ex Captivitate Salus by Andreas Kalyvas
Paperback, September 2017