Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Bluebirds by Margaret Mayhew

The heartbreaking and triumphant story of four women in wartime.1939 - And in the back of a three-ton lorry, a strangely assorted group of young women bumped over the road to RAF Colston. They were the first of the Waafs. Barmaids mixed with secretaries and debutantes. They had appalling living quarters and no uniforms. And, worst of all, the Station Commander, David Palmer, didn't want them. They were a nuisance, unable to do the work of men, and undoubtedly they would collapse and panic if the station was bombed. Felicity Newman, the officer in charge of the girls, took the scathing criticism with a red face and in angry silence, then began to try and mould the ragtag bunch of girls into a disciplined fighting unit. There was Anne Cunningham, who knew how to dance and have fun, but found herself peeling vegetables and skinning rabbits in the station kitchens. Winnie Briggs from a Suffolk farm - who longed to work on the aeroplanes themselves but met rigid rejection at every turn. And Virginia Stratton, who saw the Waaf as an escape from a miserable home, wanting to build a new life for herself. As the war progressed, so the girls showed their worth - behaving heroically unde

Buy Bluebirds by Margaret Mayhew from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780552152433
ISBN-10: 0552152439
Format: Paperback
Pages: 704
Imprint: Corgi Books
Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
Publish Date: 2-Oct-2004
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Bluebirds by Margaret Mayhew

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Bluebirds book by Margaret Mayhew and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Margaret Mayhew

Margaret Mayhew was born in London and her earliest childhood memories were of the London Blitz. She began writing in her mid-thirties and had her first novel published in 1976. She is married to American aviation author, Philip Kaplan, and lives in Gloucestershire. Her novels, Bluebirds, The Crew, The Little Ship, Our Yanks, The Pathfinder and Those In Peril are all published by Corgi Books.

Books By Margaret Mayhew

Bitter Poison by Margaret Mayhew
Hardback, November 2016
Seventh Link by Margaret Mayhew
Hardback, April 2016
Dry Bones by Margaret Mayhew
Hardback, September 2015
Bluebirds by Margaret Mayhew
Paperback, September 2015