1300 36 33 32

Rita Mae Brown never had to come out of the closet because she was never in it. Within her garrulous, wisecracking family, she was always an outsider--called "Il" by her mother because she was the illegitimate child of a relative, adopted as an infant by the Browns. Loved but isolated, she was a child more at ease with animals than with people and a frequent pawn in the outrageous battles between her mother and her aunt, the mythic Juts and Wheezie of the novels "Six of One" and "Bingo." What was never an issue, though, was her sexuality. Julia Brown accepted that her daughter was gay. At college it was different: Rita Mae's lesbianism and support of civil rights jeopardized the education she craved. Transferring to New York University, she got involved in the fledgling women's movement, where her outspokenness got her thrown out of NOW. An experiment in communal living was an inevitable bust. Then came "Rubyfruit Jungle, " the scandalous classic that made Rita Mae Brown the most famous openly gay person in America.A writing career in Hollywood followed, plus a love affair that was the most memorable of her life--all this before her relationship with tennis champion Martina Navratilova brought her transatlantic notoriety as the woman who might singlehandedly destroy women's tennis.Through it all Rita Mae Brown has stayed grounded--by a fierce work drive, a connection to her Southern heritage, and an irreverent sense of humor that flavors every page of this irresistibly readable memoir. In a me-too world, she has remained a true original.

Buy Rita Will: Memoir of a Literary Rabble-Rouser book by Rita Mae Brown from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780553378269
ISBN-10: 0553378260
Format: Paperback
(229mm x 146mm x 28mm)
Pages: 16
Imprint: Bantam Doubleday Dell Publishing Group
Publisher: Bantam Doubleday Dell Publishing Group Inc
Publish Date: 1-Jan-2001
Country of Publication: United States


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Rita Will: Memoir of a Literary Rabble-Rouser book by Rita Mae Brown and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Rita Mae Brown

Rita Mae Brown is the bestselling author of the Sneaky Pie Brown series; the Sister Jane series; A Nose for Justice and Murder Unleashed; Rubyfruit Jungle; In Her Day; and Six of One, as well as several other novels. An Emmy-nominated screenwriter and a poet, Brown lives in Afton, Virginia.

Books By Author Rita Mae Brown

Cakewalk by Rita Mae Brown


Hardback, October 2016
Tall Tail by Rita Mae Brown

Tall Tail

Hardback, May 2016
Tail Gait by Rita Mae Brown

Tail Gait

Paperback / softback, April 2016
Let Sleeping Dogs Lie by Rita Mae Brown

Let Sleeping Dogs Lie

Paperback / softback, October 2015