1300 36 33 32

July 1806. Commanding a prison hulk full of French captives, Lieutenant Martin Jerrold thinks his war can't get much better. He's far away from the more life threatening aspects of naval service and he can keep his mistress close to hand. It all seems too good to last. And so it proves. When one of the prisoners goes missing, Jerrold's comfortable world is suddenly turned upside down. Ordered by the First Lord of the Admiralty to recapture the Frenchman at any cost, he finds himself racing across England: from the stinking marshes of Chatham to the wilds of Dartmoor and the fashionable resort of Brighton. But what makes this prisoner so damned important? At the Post Office, Jerrold's old friend Mr Nevell is curious; so too are politicians from either side, including the cunning Tory leader Spencer Perceval. Even the seductive Princess Caroline takes an unexpected interest. As Jerrold - dogged by his usual bad timing, bad luck and bad behaviour - closes in on his elusive quarry, he uncovers a devilish web of treachery and deceit stretching back twenty years and ensnaring the most exalted members of society. And in hot pursuit are those who will stop at nothing to stop him...

Buy Chains of Albion book by Edwin Thomas from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780553815153
ISBN-10: 0553815156
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 128mm x 20mm)
Pages: 336
Imprint: Bantam Books (Transworld Publishers a division of the Random House Group)
Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
Publish Date: 4-Jul-2005
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Chains of Albion book by Edwin Thomas and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Edwin Thomas

Edwin Thomas was born in 1977 and grew up in West Germany, Belgium and America before returning to England to study history at Lincoln College, Oxford. He now lives in London with his wife. The first instalment of the adventures of Martin Jerrold, The Blighted Cliffs, was runner-up for the CWA Debut Dagger Award and is also available in Bantam paperback. The third instalment of the adventures of Martin Jerrold, Treason's River, will be published in Spring 2006.

Books By Author Edwin Thomas

Black Holes: A Student Text by Edwin Thomas

Black Holes: A Student Text

Paperback, November 2014
Chains of Albion by Edwin Thomas

Chains of Albion

Paperback, February 2011
Treason's River by Edwin Thomas

Treason's River

Paperback, July 2007
Blighted Cliffs by Edwin Thomas

The Blighted Cliffs

Paperback, June 2004