Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Memoirs of an Infantry Officer by Siegfried Sassoon

This is Siegfried Sassoon's fictionalized autobiography of the period between the early spring of 1916 and the summer of 1917. The narrative moves from the trenches to the Fourth Army School, to Morlancourt and a raid, then to and through the Somme.

Buy Memoirs of an Infantry Officer by Siegfried Sassoon from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780571064106
ISBN-10: 0571064108
Format: Paperback
(197mm x 125mm x 15mm)
Pages: 240
Imprint: Faber & Faber
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Publish Date: 13-Feb-1974
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Memoirs of an Infantry Officer by Siegfried Sassoon

UK Kirkus Review » The horror and glory of war has always fascinated me. Three outstanding books (of hundreds) are Siegfried Sassoon's Memoirs of an Infantry Officer, Nicholas Monsarrat's HMS Marlborough Will Enter Harbour, now sadly out of print, and The Last Enemy by Flying Officer X (Richard Hillary). (Kirkus UK)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Memoirs of an Infantry Officer book by Siegfried Sassoon and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Siegfried Sassoon

Siegfried Sassoon was born in 1886 and educated at Clare College, Cambridge. He served in the trenches during the First World War, where he began to write the poems for which he is remembered. Despatched as 'shell-shocked' to hospital, he organised public protest against the war. His poetry initially met with little response, but his reputation grew steadily in the following decades. Apart from the War Poems of 1919, he published eight volumes of verse during his lifetime. But it is as a novelist and autobiographer that he is perhaps better known. Sassoon's semi-autobiographical trilogy, Memoirs of a Fox-Hunting Man (1928), Memoirs of an Infantry Officer (1930) and Sherston's Progress (1936), was outstandingly successful. He published several more volumes of autobiography, including Siegfried's Journey (1945), before his death in 1967.

Books By Siegfried Sassoon

Memoirs of a Foxhunting Man by Siegfried Sassoon
Paperback, June 2015
War Poems by Siegfried Sassoon
Hardback, July 2014
Sherston's Progress by Siegfried Sassoon
Paperback / softback, May 2013
Memoirs of a Fox-Hunting Man by Siegfried Sassoon
Paperback / softback, May 2013