Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - The Confidential Clerk by T. S. Eliot

The title of this book is Confidential Clerk and is written by author T. S. Eliot. The book Confidential Clerk is published by Faber & Faber. The ISBN of this book is 9780571081622 and the format is Paperback. The publisher has not provided a book description for Confidential Clerk by T. S. Eliot.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780571081622
ISBN-10: 0571081622
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 126mm x 9mm)
Pages: 128
Imprint: Faber & Faber
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Publish Date: 27-Feb-1975
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - The Confidential Clerk by T. S. Eliot

US Kirkus Review » This is the latest poetical drama by the creator of The Cocktail Party and is certain to be discussed even by those who wont acknowledge they don't understand it. Fresh from an excellent performance in Londo, it is shortly due in New York. Again it's Eliot's form of morality play, adding little, perhaps, to the theme of The Cocktail Party, with its admonishment to the upper classes to prepare for the supreme sacrifice, or to accept life in its own drab terms. The cast of characters parallels that of the earlier play, with its half uppercrust, half symbolical semblance. The Clerk takes the place of the Doctor,- part confessor, part psychiatrist, almost priest and moderator. Then there's the most likable character of the lot, a vulgar, loud woman. And finally a pure idealist, martyr to a cause, who as a male and less melodramatically plays the martyr's role taken- in The Cocktail Party- by Celia Copplestone. If The Confidential Clerk strikes any new note, it might be called double detachment, for he seems to be spoofing everyone, including himself. This gives a note of wry humor. The involution of the plot, absurdity piled on absurdity, adds to the sense of amused detachment. But what is tremendous is the poetical expertise. Never has Eliot's apparently effortless presody been more precise, more pregnant. Subtle overtones and undertones give an essentially dull play whatever depth it possesses. He has achieved complete mastery of words-and his triumph is dust to the spirit. But this is a play to read-for even when he has little to say- he says it supremely well. (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Confidential Clerk book by T. S. Eliot and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - T. S. Eliot

Thomas Stearns Eliot was born in St Louis, Missouri, in 1888. He came to England in 1914 and published his first book of poems in 1917. He received the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1948. Eliot died in 1965.

Books By T. S. Eliot

Letters of T. S. Eliot by T. S. Eliot
Hardback, June 2017
Jellicle Cats by T. S. Eliot
Paperback, February 2017
Macavity's Not There! by T. S. Eliot
Hardback, July 2016
Skimbleshanks by T. S. Eliot
Paperback, November 2015