Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Wintering Out by Seamus Heaney

The title of this book is Wintering Out and is written by author Seamus Heaney. The book Wintering Out is published by Faber & Faber. The ISBN of this book is 9780571101580 and the format is Paperback. The publisher has not provided a book description for Wintering Out by Seamus Heaney.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780571101580
ISBN-10: 0571101585
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 130mm x 7mm)
Pages: 80
Imprint: Faber & Faber
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Publish Date: 3-Jan-1998
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Wintering Out by Seamus Heaney

Book Reviews - Wintering Out by Seamus Heaney

US Kirkus Review » No bad poetry can hold a candle to bad Irish poetry, which is the feeling when the drinks and hangover are gone and all that's left is blarney. Here are little bits of sentiment-laden words (cairn, bog, "fisher's wives," Maighdean Mara) for those who remember the peaceful isle as it likes to think of itself, before the not-so-recent bloodshed, as it exists in perpetuity in this provincial assortment of '50's versemaking - replete with four-line stanzas in memory of another century, in which the wars - neither of them - ever happened. For this poet, national identity seems to be nothing more than a certain kind of quaint vocabulary - words whose meanings have largely passed out of common usage - a superficial tie to a culture whose love of words is so great that, alas! the authors tend not to care how they are used, so long as they are used at all. (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Wintering Out book by Seamus Heaney and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Seamus Heaney

Seamus Heaney was born in County Derry in Northern Ireland. Death of a Naturalist, his first collection of poems, appeared in 1966, and was followed by poetry, criticism and translations which established him as the leading poet of his generation. In 1995 he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature, and twice won the Whitbread Book of the Year, for The Spirit Level (1996) and Beowulf (1999). Stepping Stones, a book of interviews conducted by Dennis O'Driscoll, appeared in 2008; Human Chain, his last volume of poems, was awarded the 2010 Forward Prize for Best Collection. He died in 2013. His translation of Virgil's Aeneid Book VI was published posthumously in 2016 to critical acclaim.

Books By Seamus Heaney

Aeneid Book VI by Seamus Heaney
Paperback / softback, May 2017
Aeneid by Seamus Heaney
Paperback, March 2017
Francis Ledwidge by Seamus Heaney
Hardback, March 2017
Field Work by Seamus Heaney
Paperback, February 2017