Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Station Island by Seamus Heaney

The title of this book is Station Island and is written by author Seamus Heaney. The book Station Island is published by Faber & Faber. The ISBN of this book is 9780571133024 and the format is Paperback. The publisher has not provided a book description for Station Island by Seamus Heaney.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780571133024
ISBN-10: 0571133029
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 128mm x 6mm)
Pages: 128
Imprint: Faber & Faber
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Publish Date: 3-Jan-1998
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Station Island by Seamus Heaney

UK Kirkus Review » With this narrative sequence, first published in the mid-1980s, the Nobel laureate's verse shed the clotted and difficult tone of his early work in favour of lyricism and accessibility. The island of the title has been a site of pilgrimage for a thousand years, but the poet is journeying inwards, towards the creative source of his consciousness. Figures met along the way include Dante and Joyce, and ghosts closer to Heaney's life. Not since Yeats has an Irish poet occupied such a pivotal position in the life Ireland and the future direction of poetry. (Kirkus UK)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Station Island book by Seamus Heaney and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Seamus Heaney

Seamus Heaney was born in County Derry in Northern Ireland. Death of a Naturalist, his first collection of poems, appeared in 1966, and was followed by poetry, criticism and translations which established him as the leading poet of his generation. In 1995 he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature, and twice won the Whitbread Book of the Year, for The Spirit Level (1996) and Beowulf (1999). Stepping Stones, a book of interviews conducted by Dennis O'Driscoll, appeared in 2008; Human Chain, his last volume of poems, was awarded the 2010 Forward Prize for Best Collection. He died in 2013. His translation of Virgil's Aeneid Book VI was published posthumously in 2016 to critical acclaim.

Books By Seamus Heaney

Aeneid Book VI by Seamus Heaney
Paperback / softback, May 2017
Aeneid by Seamus Heaney
Paperback, March 2017
Francis Ledwidge by Seamus Heaney
Hardback, March 2017
Field Work by Seamus Heaney
Paperback, February 2017