Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Crooked Scythe by George Ewart Evans

George Ewart Evans, who wrote the classic Ask the Fellows Who Cut the Hay, was one of the pioneers of oral history. This anthology is drawn from his writings about the memories of men and women of a past era - farm labourers, shepherds, horsemen, blacksmiths, wheelwrights, sailors, fisherman, miners, maltsters, domestic servants and many others. The anthology is edited and includes drawings by David Gentleman.'A pleasure to look at and a delight to read . . . A treasury of country folklore in words and pictures, and a monument to a great and pioneering man . . . It is right that the past should be heard of in the words of those who lived it . . . Those who actually cut the hay.' Daily Telegraph

Buy The Crooked Scythe by George Ewart Evans from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780571171941
ISBN-10: 057117194X
Format: Paperback
(200mm x 128mm x mm)
Pages: 224
Imprint: Faber & Faber
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Publish Date: 1-Aug-1994
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - The Crooked Scythe by George Ewart Evans

Book Reviews - The Crooked Scythe by George Ewart Evans

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Crooked Scythe book by George Ewart Evans and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - George Ewart Evans

Born in the mining town of Abercynon, South Wales, George Ewart Evans (1909-88) was a pioneering oral historian. In 1948 he settled with his family in Blaxhall, Suffolk, and through conversing with his neighbours he developed an interest in their dialect and the aspects of rural life which they described. Many were agricultural labourers, born before the turn of the century, who had worked on farms before the arrival of mechanisation. With the assistance of a tape recorder he collected oral evidence of the dialect, rural customs, traditions and folklore throughout East Anglia, and this work, reinforced by documental research, provided the background for his renowned East Anglian books.

Books By George Ewart Evans

Leaping Hare by George Ewart Evans
Paperback, April 2017
Pattern Under the Plough by George Ewart Evans
Paperback, October 2013
Acky by George Ewart Evans
Paperback, October 2008
Horse Power and Magic by George Ewart Evans
Paperback, October 2008