Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Selected early works from the Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright. Throughout his work, Doug Wright has often combined the personal, the social, and the political, in the process unearthing fundamental truths about life and art while casting an unblinking eye on the dark--and darkly funny--side of human nature. Gathered here are three of Wright's early plays, including Interrogating the Nude , a tongue-in-cheek reimagining of the uproar surrounding the debut of Marcel Duchamp's work in America; Watbanaland , a satiric dissection of yuppie desire and a haunting look at family and faith; and the Obie Award-winning Quills , which explores the boundaries of artistic expression and the dangers of censorship as they played out in the Marquis de Sade's final days at Charenton Asylum.

Buy Quills and Other Plays book by Doug Wright from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780571211807
ISBN-10: 0571211801
Format: Paperback / softback
(216mm x 137mm x 20mm)
Imprint: Faber & Faber
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Publish Date: 29-Nov-2005
Country of Publication: United States


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Quills and Other Plays book by Doug Wright and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Doug Wright

Doug Wright is the author of I Am My Own Wife (Faber, 2004), which won the Pulitzer Prize for Drama.

Books By Author Doug Wright

Nipper 1967-68 by Doug Wright

Nipper 1967-68

Paperback, March 2013
Nipper 1965-1966 by Doug Wright

Nipper 1965-1966

Paperback, September 2011
Nipper 1963-1964 by Doug Wright

Nipper 1963-1964

Paperback, October 2010
Night of the Iguana by Doug Wright

The Night of the Iguana

Paperback, September 2009