1300 36 33 32

Patrick Parker, golden child of bomb-devastated Coventry, adored and encouraged by his mother, fulfils his dream destiny to be a bridge builder as great as Brunel. Audrey Wapshott, born at the same time, feels her destiny is to become the wife of handsome, brilliant Patrick. But Patrick has other plans and Audrey, miserable and abandoned, is left to follow her own journey to self-fulfilment beginning in Paris, and sinfulness, in the arms of a much older man. When their paths cross years later, wicked Audrey plots a grand and satisfying retribution.

Buy Patrick Parker's Progress book by Mavis Cheek from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780571214488
ISBN-10: 0571214487
Format: Paperback
(197mm x 127mm x 24mm)
Pages: 368
Imprint: Faber & Faber
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Publish Date: 3-Mar-2005
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Patrick Parker's Progress book by Mavis Cheek and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Mavis Cheek

Mavis Cheek was born and grew up in Wimbledon. She began her working life at Editions Alecto, the contemporary art publishers. After Alecto, she attended Hillcroft College for Women from where she graduated in Arts. After her daughter Bella was born, she began her writing career in earnest; journalism and travel writing at first, then short stories, and eventually, in 1988, her novel Pause Between Acts was published by Bodley Head and won the She/John Menzies First Novel Prize. She is the author of thirteen novels novels including Mrs Fytton's Country Life, Janice Gentle Gets Sexy and, most recently, Amenable Women which was described in The Times as 'a brilliantly funny, warm, intelligent read'. She now lives and writes in the heart of the English countryside..

Books By Author Mavis Cheek

Lovers of Pound Hill by Mavis Cheek

The Lovers of Pound Hill

Paperback, May 2012
Pigeon Pie by Mavis Cheek

Pigeon Pie

Paperback, November 2011
Truth to Tell by Mavis Cheek

Truth to Tell

Paperback, May 2011
Some Tame Gazelle by Mavis Cheek

Some Tame Gazelle

Paperback, August 2009