Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

As he grew up, Andrew O'Hagan witnessed the decline of Britain and the rise of America, the end of British industry and the rise of Blair and the tabloids. This collection of essays tells the story of that period in our cultural and political life. Through the reported essays that first made O'Hagan's name, it's a book filled both with personal story and the power of documentary witness. Opening with a major personal piece examining the journey of Britain and America since the closing of the Thatcher years, it concludes with a piece of reportage telling the story of a British and an American soldier who died in Iraq on the same day in 2006. It is a fascinating, important and timely collection from a hugely important essayist.

Buy The Atlantic Ocean book by Andrew O'Hagan from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780571238859
ISBN-10: 0571238858
Format: Hardback
(223mm x 147mm x 32mm)
Pages: 384
Imprint: Faber & Faber
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Publish Date: 5-Jun-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Atlantic Ocean book by Andrew O'Hagan and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Andrew O'Hagan

Andrew O'Hagan was born in Glasgow in 1968. Our Fathers, his debut novel, was shortlisted for the 1999 Booker Prize and Personality (2003) won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction. In 2003 he was named one of Granta's Best of Young British Novelists. He lives in London.

Books By Author Andrew O'Hagan

Secret Life by Andrew O'Hagan

The Secret Life

Hardback, June 2017
Illuminations by Andrew O'Hagan

The Illuminations

Paperback / softback, July 2016
If the Spirit Moves You by Andrew O'Hagan

If the Spirit Moves You

Paperback, June 2015
William Hazlitt Essay Prize 2013 the Winners by Andrew O'Hagan

The William Hazlitt Essay Prize 2013 the Winners

Hardback, November 2013