Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Victorians by Geoffrey Grigson

The third in a trio of anthologies by Geoffrey Grigson (The Romantics, Before the Romantics and The Victorians) that are both highly entertaining and provide a fresh approach to the ideas of an age.Primarily anthologies of poetry, with prose from the era to illustrate it, they have been universally praised for their great scope and their original take on English literature. The Victorians celebrates the 'word-painting' that Hopkins thought the great success of the age, and tempers the sentimental poetry normally associated with the era with street ballads, parodies and nonsense poetry.A wide range of the most celebrated writers and thinkers of the age are represented - Tennyson, Browning, the Rossettis, Darwin, Edward Lear - as well as less familiar names, such as the Pre-Raphaelites Walter Deverell and Thomas Woolner, Alexander Smith and Sir Edwin Arnold.In The Victorians, Grigson succeeds in creating a delightfully diverse anthology of the gravity and nonsense, feelings and facts, anxieties and triumphs that the age encapsulated.

Buy The Victorians by Geoffrey Grigson from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780571242863
ISBN-10: 0571242863
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 135mm x mm)
Pages: 348
Imprint: Faber & Faber
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Publish Date: 29-May-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - The Victorians by Geoffrey Grigson

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Victorians book by Geoffrey Grigson and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Geoffrey Grigson

Geoffrey Grigson, poet and writer, was born in Cornwall in 1905. After (in his words) 'a profitless sojourn' at Oxford University, he worked as literary journalist and critic. His best journalism was collected in The Contrary View (1974) and Blessings, Kicks and Curses (1982), while The Harp of Aeolus (1947) and his book on Samuel Palmer (1947) contains some of his finest writing on art. His trio of poetry anthologies (Before the Romantics, The Romantics and The Victorians) were universally heralded for their careful and original selection. His first book of poetry was Several Observations (1939) and his Collected Poems was published in 1963. He had four children and was married three times, lastly to Jane McIntire, who, as Jane Grigson, became a celebrated cookery expert. He died in 1985.

Books By Geoffrey Grigson

Shell Country Alphabet by Geoffrey Grigson
Paperback, August 2010
Faber Book of Epigrams and Epitaphs by Geoffrey Grigson
Paperback, August 2008
Faber Book of Poems and Places by Geoffrey Grigson
Paperback, August 2008
Romantics by Geoffrey Grigson
Paperback, May 2008