1300 36 33 32

The second volume of the astonishing Earth's Children(R) series--over 34 million copies sold worldwide In The Valley of Horses , Ayla, the unforgettable heroine of The Clan of the Cave Bear , sets out on her own odyssey of discovery away from the nurturing adoptive family and friends of the Clan. She is in search of others like herself and in search of love. Driven by her intelligence, her curiosity, and her destiny, she explores where the Clan never dared to travel and encounters a hostile world of awesome mystery, glacial cold, terrifying beasts, and intense loneliness in which survival itself is a constant battle. Sharing a hidden valley with a herd of steppe horses, Ayla finds a unique friendship with animals as vulnerable as herself and ingeniously discovers the complex skills needed to survive--skills no Clan member was ever able to master. But none of her experiences prepares her for the emotional turmoil she feels when she rescues a young man--the first of the Others she has seen--from almost certain death. Torn between her desire for human companionship and her fear of the unknown Others, she struggles against her deep attraction to the handsome Jondalar. It is Jondalar who teaches her the meaning of true friendship and love. Once again, Jean M. Auel uses her powerful storytelling talents and her thorough understanding of human nature to take us on an amazing journey into the primordial past, re-creating the prehistoric world as it truly might have been in this compelling and timeless new epic of the dawn of civilization.

Buy Valley of Horses, the book by Jean M. Auel from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780609610985
ISBN-10: 0609610988
Format: Hardback
(241mm x 159mm x 42mm)
Pages: 502
Imprint: Crown Publications
Publisher: Random House USA Inc
Publish Date: 1-May-2002
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Valley of Horses, the book by Jean M. Auel and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Jean M. Auel

JEAN M. AUEL's Earth's Children(R) series includes The Clan of the Cave Bear, The Valley of Horses, The Mammoth Hunters, The Plains of Passage, and the forthcoming The Shelters of Stone. She and her husband, Ray, live in Oregon, where she is working on the sixth volume of the series.

Books By Author Jean M. Auel

Land of Painted Caves by Jean M. Auel

The Land of Painted Caves

Paperback, March 2012
Clan of the Cave Bear by Jean M. Auel

The Clan of the Cave Bear

Paperback, December 2010
Plains of Passage by Jean M. Auel

The Plains of Passage

Paperback, December 2010
Valley of Horses by Jean M. Auel

The Valley of Horses

Paperback, December 2010